February Frenzy 2017 Report

posted 18 Feb 2017, 09:24 by Enquiries campbeltownrunningclub   [ updated 18 Feb 2017, 12:29 ]

The 2017 February frenzy took place this morning with a strong turnout of 19 runners competing in the handicapped race around Lussa.  Conditions were excellent, both weather and underfoot, which was evident in some excellent times.

Congratulations to Ian Docherty for winning in 59:27 (RT 42:27).  An incredible time under normal circumstances, but even more impressive is that was only Ian's third run at the club and first ever race!  He now has a 100% success rate with races...could be time to retire!  Seriously, it looks like there will be more to come from Ian and we'll be sure to punish his handicap harder for the 5K series :-)

Well done to Margaret Sinclair who finished second in 62:00 (RT 62:00) with another impressive run.  It was a well deserved podium finish and  Margaret is benefiting on the hilly sections today after some recent long runs on some 'belters of routes' in the Kintyre trails!  

Also, big thumbs up to big Sandy McLean for finishing third in 62:19 (RT 47:19) with another strong run.  Sandy continues to improve with each race and clearly evident today as he knocked off over 4 mins from last years February Frenzy time!  Gan yersel big Sandman!

CRC would like to thank everyone who participated and to all the bakers who provided post race treats.   Also, a massive thanks to our time keepers Suzy Ferguson, Rab Mcdonald and Catherine McLean.  Without their support these races wouldn't be possible, so very much appreciated.

For full race timings see table below:

Name Real Time Clock Time
Ian Docherty 42:27 59:27
Margaret Sinclair 62:00 62:00
Sandy McLean 47:19 62:19
Darren Renton 44:55 62:55
Allan Reid 45:13 63:13
Ewan Smith 45:31 64:01
Sarah McFadzean 53:13 64:13
Jimmy Anderson 48:55 64:55
Elaine Cameron 53:01 65:01
Mairi McKillop 65:05 65:05
Emma Morran 50:12 65:12
Charlie Anderson 55:17 65:17
Jocelyn Richard 54:18 65:38
Stewart Ireland 47:06 66:06
Jennifer Martin 46:39 66:39
Elaine McGeachy 57:32 67:02
Kerry O'May 54:40 67:40
Campbell Reid 60:51 67:51